business voice vs. personal voice?

I’m reading through an article on CopyBlogger about how to find your voice (literally, I’m in the middle of it), specifically how to find your blog’s voice.  Finding my blogging voice actually kills me.  When I write messages and emails to friends with little or no thought to sounding “professional” or “marketable,”  they invariably tell me it’s like I’m there telling them my stories in person.  As soon as I start to blog, BAM, my voice gets lost.  

Everything that you hear from marketing professors or career centres or just generally professional people tells you that your online presence is a key marketing tool.  The problem is, I loathe writing in a professional voice.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m great at it, as it’s a skill I’ve honed writing countless marketing papers for school, but it’s so unnatural for me, and trust me when I say that no one comes up to me and says it’s like I’m there talking to them about target markets.  

So what do I do?  Well, I’ll finish reading CopyBlogger and let you know.  But, since it’s my new favourite blog, I’ll be sure to keep you posted on how I’m taking every single piece of their advice on the subject.

About Desirae Odjick

Content strategist, copywriter and digital marketer. I'm also into running, oranges, the internet, reading tons of books and knowing awesome people.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.