countdown to jdc central: 11 days!

After months of preparation, it’s the final countdown to the most wonderful time of the year – JDC Central time!

It’s funny how different it is being in the final weeks as a captain instead of a competitor this year.  Last year I was a bundle of nerves and was stressing out about what to wear, what to pack, what to expect, how to prepare and a ton of other issues that seemed incredibly pressing and all-important.  This year it’s somehow calmer.  I have a lot more on my plate in terms of responsibilities, but a lot less pressure to perform.  Once we get to the competition, all of the most stressful parts of my role on the team are finished; I’ll have met all my deadlines, done my best to prepare our competitors and my role turns into a supporting role.  Staying awake, making sure my team stays awake and making sure my competitors feel supported are going to be my biggest challenges!

Until then, I’ll be swimming in a sea of last-minute academic practices, costume creation and making sure all the special surprises we have planned for the competition go off without a hitch.  The amount of paper products, fabric and general craft supplies in my living room is astounding, and just looking at what I fondly refer to as the craft pile makes me SO excited for January 20th to kick off the best weekend ever!

 

About Desirae Odjick

Content strategist, copywriter and digital marketer. I'm also into running, oranges, the internet, reading tons of books and knowing awesome people.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.