operation: be involved in school.

So this year I’ve decided to take a break from working 25-ish hours a week during school to get more involved in school and avoid having a total meltdown come mid-term season.  I really have no interest in competing with my Type A friends to have the busiest, least-balanced schedule, and I’m a big fan of sleep.  On the getting-more-involved front, it’s going really well so far!

I kind of fell into the role of VP Internal with the Sprott Marketing Student’s Association because of all the free time I spend playing around with CSS and WordPress and all that social media goodness.  The conversation went a bit like this… “Hey Lauren, are you looking for people to be involved with SMSA this year?” “Can you do websites?” “….Kind of.” “Good.  I’ll put you down as VP Internal.”  And that’s my SMSA story!  I’m loving it – the people I’m working with are amazing and our meetings are tons of fun.  Right now my main focus is the SMSA blog/website but I’m also going around to classes promoting a case-writing tutorial we’ll be running in October.  

I’m also spending time preparing for my JDCC Academic interview on Wednesday.  This one is the big one, my BHAG for the year and one of the biggest reasons I decided not to work part-time during the year.  Participating in JDCC is equivalent in time commitment to a job, but everyone who did it last year has told me it’s the best experience they’ve had so far at school.  I feel pretty prepared for my interview, but I’m still crossing just about all my fingers and toes.  Wish me luck!

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

