goal: achieved!

When I came back from Australia, I set a goal for myself.  “I am on a top 3 marketing team at JDCC.  By-when: January 22nd, 2011.”

After what was unquestionably one of the great weekends of my life, that goal was achieved on Sunday evening when they announced that the first place in the Marketing Competition at JDCC went to the Sprott School of Business!  I can’t even describe that moment, other than to say it was surreal.  And kind of the best thing ever.

Adding to the joy of the evening was all the other recognition we received as a team – Organizing Committee of the Year, placing in Charity, Participation, Social, MIS, Sports and coming in second for School of the Year!  I’m so proud to have been a part of it all.  It was a magical weekend, and I say that realizing full well how corny it sounds.

If anyone who was there or played a part in making JDCC happen this year happens to stumble on this post, from the bottom of my heart thank you.  Thank you to the delegates, who created one of the most supportive and friendly environments I’ve ever experienced.  Thank you to the volunteers, who put in so much just to make sure there was a JDCC, because it never would have happened without you.  Thank you to the OC, who put in more work than any of us can even imagine.  Thank you to our judges, who are so generous with their time and expertise; I’m sure I speak for every delegate when I say it was a pleasure meeting each of you!  Thank you to our sponsors, without whom the whole event would never have been possible.  And to everyone and anyone I may have missed, thank you.

What an amazing weekend!

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on January 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

