living your moksha, day 1

Today is, if not the first day of the rest of my life, at least the first day of my Moksha Challenge!  Along with thousands of other Moksha students across the world, I’ll be spending seven weeks incorporating the 7 pillars of Moksha Yoga into my life, along with doing ALL the yoga!  To be specific, my goal is 40 classes in 50 days.

This is actually something I had a vague, woozy goal-ish sentiment about doing this April, but my concrete goals looked more like “Do yoga five times per week, by-when: ongoing.” Because let’s face it, a whole yoga challenge is scary sauce.  The previous challenges my local Moksha studio has had were 30 classes in 30 days, and that was really intimidating to me the last time I sat down and revamped my goals in January, since at that point a regular Moksha class had me sore and dehydrated for days.

So it was a very cool and only slightly terrifying moment when I officially signed up for the challenge.  40 classes in 50 days is easier for me to get my head around, and more closely resembles the five classes per week I’ve been consistently attending since Reading Week (win!)

One day in, I’ve attended a Moksha Flow class and eaten vegetarian meals for a grand total of 8 hours.  This week’s challenge is Be Healthy, hence the vegetarianism.  I’ll keep you posted on how well that one sticks, especially since we’re entering the exam period, which means going running more to literally run away from my studying duties, which means craving chicken like it’s going out of style.

Did you know some varieties of chicken are recommended as pets for disabled children?  Fact.

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

