managing stress

For those of you who don’t know, I’m in love with the Sprott Business Communications Club.  Head over heels, the real deal, Romeo-and-Juliet style love.  It’s a club where students can go to practice their public speaking skills, and I think it’s the most inclusive, lovely group of people you’ll find on campus.

Each month, SBCC has a theme for our meetings, and this month’s theme is managing stress.  Pretty appropriate given that the majority of us are not only high achieving students who won’t accept a bad grade on a midterm, we’re also really involved in all the other acronyms at school (JDCC, SBSS, ICBC… I think I’ve made my point, and those are just the ones I’m currently involved in.)

The funniest part is that this extra commitment, this hour I take out of my studying and my week to participate in SBCC, is what helps me manage stress.  There’s no better way to describe me in these meetings but “joyous.”  I love the people, I love public speaking and we have hilarious, fun-filled meetings.  One time, we moved it like Bernie every time someone said the word of the day.  Who wouldn’t love that?

It really is the best of both worlds – I get to manage my stress while adding something else to my laundry list of acronyms.  So dear Sprott students:  why aren’t you in SBCC too?

We meet Wednesdays at noon in 710A DT.

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

