speaking of the business communication club…

They really, really helped me out in Organizational Leadership last week.  We do private blog post assignments every week, and because our amazing prof wants to prepare us and our communication skills for the real world, four people get chosen to get up in front of the class and speak about what they wrote that week.  You have very little warning, and then you’re up.  Our professor (Tory Anderson – if you’re at Carleton, take one of his classes!) then video tapes your presentation and gets you to evaluate how you did after watching it.

Here’s how mine went…

I was terrified to watch that!  I mean, legitimately scared to open the file, especially since before you watch it with sound, you watch it without sound.  Yeah, if you weren’t afraid of noticing every little quirk you have in a presentation, try taking the sound out!

The reason I’ve gathered the courage to share it on Youtube and my blog is simple: no one is born being comfortable talking in front of people, and doing it well.  I think my presentation turned out well (no ums or ahs, at least!) and that didn’t just happen.  It took a lot of work, a lot of coaching and a lot of being open to feedback.

So put yourself out there!  Trust me, it gets easier with time.  Oh and remind me to tell you about the day I had to throw my prepared speech out the window and present in front of over 1000 people.  Yeah, I was pretty glad I had presentation training that day too.

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

