goal: read these books.

I have a goal of reading two books for fun every month, and even though some months it doesn’t quite happen – oh hey, October, land of the evil midterms – most months it does, and the few weeks after each round of exams tends to help my average books per month a whole lot.  Since that’s in a few days, I wanted to write up my Christmas book list as inspiration to get me through my two exams!

The Help – Kathryn Stockett
Everyone has been raving about the book forever, and now the movie is out on DVD and I definitely want to see it over the holidays, but I have this thing about wanting to read the book first.  Probably because in my experience, the book is usually better!  So this is definitely on my list (along with the Hunger Games Trilogy!)

The Thank You Economy – Gary Vaynerchuck
I’ve been wanting to read this for a while, and it comes highly recommended by a lot of people I really respect.  From what I’ve heard, I’ll really enjoy it, so I’m very much looking forward to picking it up as soon as I’m out of my last exam.

Out of Oz – Gregory Maguire
I could not be more excited that Gregory Maguire has a new book out.  I love his intriguing take on classic fairy tales from a different point of view, and I can’t wait to sit down and devour his latest work in one sitting.  They’re definitely the kind of books you just can’t put down!

Great by Choice – Jim Collins
There aren’t really words for how amazing I think Jim Collin’s work is.  For an academic to write about empirical findings and his research in such an easy to read, engaging format is unfortunately rare, and his findings are so applicable to modern corporate life.  I loved Good to Great and Built to Last, so I’m very excited to read Great by Choice!

UnMarketing – Scott Stratten
Another book that’s been on my list for a while.  I love Stratten’s take on marketing, and as a marketing student, I can’t wait to read a whole book by him, as opposed to blog posts or tweets!

The hardest part about being done exams?  Not running out to buy all of these immediately, because they’re also all on my Christmas wish list.  I guess I’ll just have to go find some other books to add to my non-Christmas list… I know, it’s a tough job, but someone’s got to do it!

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on December 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

