the books of christmas

So I set a goal of reading a bunch of books over the holidays, partially to help me set up my Christmas book wish list, and so far, the goal is well on its way to being achieved!

In terms of books I bought for myself, I couldn’t hold off on the fiction books on my list, and devoured The Help and the entire Hunger Games trilogy in a matter of days after finishing my exams.  I’ve since re-read the entire Hunger Games trilogy, because yes, they really are that good.

As for Christmas gifts, I received even more book-type awesomeness than I anticipated!  I got two of the business books that I asked for, Great by Choice and The Thank You Economy, and was very happily surprised by Blue Ocean Strategy, which is turning out to be among the most useful business books I’ve read in a while.  It could come in very handy with my strategic management class next semester!  Remind me in about a month that I was excited about this class, OK?

Last but not least, an Amazon gift box was waiting for me under the tree with my new favourite gadget!  My mom got me a Kindle, and I couldn’t be happier with it – as much as I do enjoy traditional books, the lower prices on ebooks get me every time, and buying them straight from my Kindle is the best way to avoid all the Boxing Day crowds!

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am reading the Thank You Economy now. I love it!

Leave a Reply

