#RWRunStreak – Week 1 Recap

…or the variety of excuses I didn’t cave in to this week.  To keep it simple, I’m going to go by day.

Day 1 – The Hangover Edition
The first day of the Run Streak happened to also be the first day of my first-ever bv02 retreat.  I knew this when I first decided to start the run streak, but I also knew that our specific brand of corporate retreat has left some people feeling, well, a little dehydrated from time to time.  That first day was no exception, and for a while on Monday morning I was mostly sure I was going to die.  Still went running, though!  I roped one of my co-workers, Jason, into run-streaking with me, so he dragged my hungover butt out onto the gorgeous trails surrounding our resort in Tremblant, and I’m really glad he did, because it was gorgeous and I managed a brutal 2 miles.  I did earn the nickname “veloci-runner” due to a startlingly bad picture taken of us running in which I look like a horrifying dinosaur of sorts, but looking good is for rest days, so I’ve made my peace with it.

If this was your path, you’d go running with a hangover too.

Day 2 – The One Where I Planned Ahead
After the, no exaggeration, horror of my hangover on Monday morning, I was dedicated to NOT feeling that way on Tuesday.  I know I feel my best on more than 7 hours of sleep and having gone for a run in the morning, so I made sure that happened and I did my mile in the morning.  This involved being the anti-life of the party on Monday night, but somehow I managed to combine that with winning the drink-making competition with my team’s deliciously sweet mix of orange juice, SourPuss, peach schnapps and ginger ale.  It’s all about a balanced lifestyle, people.

A few key ingredients to victory.

Day 3 – The One Where I Loved Running
Wednesday we all got home from the retreat, and while I did spend a few hours of my evening catching up on reality TV (you know you love it, don’t lie) I also made sure to get out for a run.  I got out there mostly by reassuring myself that it was only a mile, and that I didn’t have to come anywhere close to my race pace.  Turns out, taking the time pressure out of the run was just what I needed, and I ended up running more than 4 kilometres!  It was really nice to ease off the intense time pressure I had been putting on my training leading up to the 10K, and just relax into it.  I really love running.

Day 4 – The One Where I Got Up Early
A boring title for a boring day.  Did about a mile and a half, in the morning, loved it.  No real life lessons learned, but my Nike+ app did congratulate me on a four-day running streak!

Day 5 – The One Where I Felt Lazy?
Friday morning, I had the weirdest experience.  I got up early, got my shoes on, ran half a mile uphill and then turned around and ran back home.  I met my goal for the day, and kept up my running streak.  As a result of this, I felt… lazy.  Lazy because I had only run a mile, and easily could have run more.  Schwhat?  I’m running every day, which I’ve never done before in my life, and I feel lazy because those runs aren’t long enough?  I’m liking this paradigm shift, people.

Day 6 – The One With Company
Ugh.  Saturday morning.  Got up, got coffee, got back into bed with a book.  It was glorious.  For about an hour, I vacillated between “just go running” and “ten more pages.”  Thankfully, I know other people who run, and they’re pretty great about holding you accountable.  I recruited company for my run (OK fine, they recruited me) and together we did more than 5K in somewhat blustery weather.

Day 7 – The One With The Angry Birds
I WAS ATTACKED BY A BIRD!  No, but actually.  For a full video of someone else having the same life experience, see CTV Ottawa’s coverage of the phenomenon, but let’s just say these birds are not happy.  On a nice 7-kilometre run along the Canal, a red-winged black bird got pretty pissed off I was on their turf, and dive-bombed me.  It was startling, even knowing that they’ve been doing it to pretty much everyone, but it also makes for an amazing story.

That was week 1 of the run streak!  So far so good, and after 7 days of running, I can’t wait to see what the next weeks hold as I ramp up my half-marathon training while still making time for a run every day.

About Des

A millennial on a mission: save half of her income. It turns out, it's easier said than done, which is why she's blogging about it every step of the way. From frugal event attendance to optimizing her spending and more, she's figuring it out alongside the other must-do personal finance steps in her 20s.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in fitness, goals, motivation, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats on your one week! I had never heard of #RWRunStreak before, but it sounds like a great way to motivate people to go out running!

    Because of an unexpected commitment to running the 5k leg of a team triathlon and my tendency to challenge myself, I’m 1 week into an 8 week race preparation program. Contrary to my expectations, I’m enjoying myself!

    One of my favorite tools when running is the Nike+ running application. I like how it visually keeps track of what I do.

    Do you have any pro running tips you wish you knew when you started?

Leave a Reply

